Cosplay Hextech Janna – WIP: Making the Corset Part 1

More progress.

I managed to get my hands on chalk which I got from the classrooms on campus.

First thing I did was to trace all of the pattern parts including the opposite side. The material you want for a corset should be non-stretchy. Unfortunately I had stretchy material, but I made do with it. I’m following a tutorial on deviantArt that I think covers a good deal of corset making that isn’t usually covered or is rushed over. And I’ve read TONS of tutorials. This one I feel is very instructive and concise.

http://pestilentialcreature.deviantart.com/art/Corset-Tutorial-134426565

IMG_0282 IMG_0283 IMG_0285 IMG_0286

After that you want to cut each of the pattern pieces and then use it as your template for the top layer fabric.

IMG_0287 IMG_0288

Now pin the two together and get sewing! Oh yeah FYI. I’m a complete beginner when it comes to sewing so everything I do ends up crappy, but I try my best all the time. Sometimes I do rush but then I stick a pin into myself and that reminds me to slow down. The last time I worked on my cosplay, I was cutting a foam ball too fast with an exacto knife and completely sliced off the tip of my pinky. DO NOT RUSH WHEN YOU WORK ON COSPLAY. IT’S DANGEROUS WORK.

In all seriousness, don’t rush. You can get hurt doing this if you’re not careful.

IMG_0289 IMG_0290 IMG_0292

I’ve made a lot of mistakes along the way. Go figure. But I really don’t want to take the time to do it over again. Nor do I have a lot of my “leather” material left so I’m going to be using what I have. Next up: Boning and channeling. (Which won’t happen until I get those supplies)

IMG_0293 IMG_0295

Leave a Reply

